To all those making an MMO...

Started by Gleech, October 18, 2009, 03:45:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gleech

I want to admit that I am no professional, but with years of experience PLAYING MMOs, and reading the release notes, I'd like to give a few tips on how to make your game more successful, and professional.

Tip 1. MAKING AN MMO IS NOT ALL FUN AND GAMES.

Making an MMO, as said above, is NOT all fun and games. It's serious work, and people who don't take it all seriously, will have a failure of an MMO, where little people will join, because of the competition.

Tip 2. BETA TESTERS ARE FOR BETA

Beta testers are for BETA TESTING, they do NOT get to see BEFORE your first BETA release, because you still NEED to create the game before any testing can be done. This makes perfect sense in my mind, but I'll show you what I mean.

In creating a game, you'll come across something called, a version.
Any version BELOW (Note that this number may be different per thing) 0.10 is CONSTRUCTION.
Any version (Note, once again, that this can be different) 1.0 or HIGHER, is a stable release.
BETA is usually called, V1.0B, or V1.0?. Why? Well ? is the Greek symbol for BETA.

Tip 3. WHAT IS BETA?

What exactly, IS BETA, when you think about it? Well, in the gaming world, BETA comes BEFORE the official release (When the game is open to everyone), and AFTER the construction stages. BETA testers NEVER see the construction stage.

Tip 4. WHY BOTHER USING VERSIONS?

Versions are used for showing the progress of your game. Currently, my MMO is in V0.3 (Version 0.3). When writing the name of your current version, you can do it many ways,

Version [number].[number]
v[number].[number]
V[number].[number]

Just wanted to clear that up.
The change of version is generally based on if the creator of the game feels the update is big enough to leap into the next step (version).